Do(ing) it Like a Feminist

Post-Grad Girl living in a Post-Grad World.

Guess who’s back?

Leave a comment

Hello Bloggers! I can not believe it’s been MONTHS since I last posted. SO much has happened to me (both personally and professionally) that I haven’t had a moment to reflect (it didn’t help that my laptop officially died in April).

So to play catch up, I would like to inform the world that I am now a Case Planner for Good Shepherd Services in the Family Foster Care unit. I can’t even believe how my life has played out in the past couple of months to lead me to this amazing career. I have been working at GSS for almost three months now and I must say it is truly a tedious but rewarding job. I help find youth permanency within the foster care system and have developed relationships with amazing kids and adolescents.

It’s funny to me when I think back on my time at HWS and how it’s helped mold me to where I am now. When I graduated, I wanted to be a hardcore activist, but I didn’t really know what that looked like. I thought by being engulfed in the feminist movement online that I would find my voice and become the next Audre Lorde, but there was a bigger plan for me. I now realize that I don’t have to try to get my foot in to the movement online, but rather become my own type of activist in a field where it needs advocating. It’s kind of ironic to be going from one spectrum of feminist activism when a part of me knew all along that I would be where I am now. I can truly say that it has been a blessing in disguise and all the waiting has paid off.

Now, as I move forth into this career of Family Foster Care, I know that my activism will not fade away because it is with me every day when I am talking with my kids or advocating for them in court. Isn’t life funny?

 

Author: mamagfem

Post-Grad student looking to engage herself in the new world.

Leave a Reply

